top of page

Minimalist Wardrobe

Full disclosure, I'm a fast fashion junkie. I have a huge closet jam packed with clothes but somehow I never have anything to wear.

So, I'm embarking on a challenge I have picked 40 pieces of clothes and that's all I can wear for the next 40 days. Why would I do such a thing? Well, I've heard about the harmful effects of the fast fashion world, but I have turned a blind eye for the selfish reason that I want to look fashionable. After watching the documentary The True Cost (which is currently available on Netflix) I knew that I needed to start somewhere to curb my addition to fast fashion.

Here is how I picked my 40 pieces of clothes:

1. I made a list of the top 3 activities I currently do within a week. Now this list might change for me within the next 6 months since I'll be back at work but I will change this list, if needed.

1. Playing/hanging out with the kids (which includes getting groceries and coffee)

2.Working out/Yoga (maybe once a week, if I'm lucky)

3.Date nights with Adam (once or twice a month, if we can get a babysitter)

2. I made a list of 3 neutral colours and 1 accent colour that my wardrobe will be based on.

Black, Grey, and White

Blue

3. I made a list of the amount of tops, bottoms, dresses and active wear that I think I need.

My checklist of clothes

4. I took all of my "fast fashion" clothes, sold them online or put them away.

When my 40 days are done, I really hope this will become a lifestyle. If you want follow along my journey check out our Instagram stories where I will posting my daily outfits #ootd

Wish me luck!

Kerry xoxo

bottom of page