top of page

Top 3 Things I Love About Calgary

The Stampede in Calgary is winding down. For the last week the city had a certain energy about it which I loved! We went Stampeding last weekend which got me to thinkin' about all the things I love about Calgary, so far.

I have almost been living in Calgary for 6 months. I have checked local neighbourhoods, malls, coffee shops and restaurants. I have put a list together of my top three things I love the most about Calgary. So, here it is:

Family Friendly - Everywhere I go I see families. This is evident by the abundance of hip family restaurants and the play areas in malls. Yes, you heard right! I can go the mall do some shopping and Ryan can burn off some energy! I really like going to Market Mall it's a little far from where I live but Ryan loves it plus I really like the coffee shop Deville and grabbing lunch at dirtbelly. Other malls with play areas include South Centre and Core.

Communities - We live in Marda Loop a great little community with coffee shops, yoga studios, and grocery stores within a minute walk. Some of my regular spots are Blush Lane and Yoga Mandala but I do love exploring other hoods. Inglewood is my favourite and I'm clearly not talking about the Inglewood in LA. Inglewood reminds me of what Queen West in Toronto was before the big chain stores moved in. Inglewood is filled with independent shops like The Livery that stocks tons of local brands that I love. Purr is a Calgary staple and where I've found goodies for myself, Adam and the kiddies. One more must is Plant to grab all you need to become a "plant person". Another neighbourhood I love is Kensington where you can find Purr Petite which is just for the kiddies. As an added bonus they have consignment shop in the basement, hello deals!

Mountains - Growing up in Toronto and moving to Calgary I was mesmerized by the mountains. Every time I see them, I’m in shock of their beauty. We moved to Calgary weeks before Ryan's 2nd Birthday and we celebrated by going to Banff. Ryan now loves the mountains. Bea was born in a hospital with a room that had a view of the mountains. So, the mountains will always have a special place in my heart. Only a short drive away and Ryan is in the biggest and most beautiful playground called the Rockies, what more could you ask for?!

Toronto will always be home! But Calgary has a lot to offer this Mom who is a city girl at heart and an aspiring outdoors girl. So, get out there and enjoy all what Calgary to offer!

Kerry

xoxo

bottom of page